top of page
  • Writer's pictureMs Connett

Y12 Food Science & Nutrition Lesson 1: Stefan's Dinner

Updated: Apr 22, 2020

Tasks:

Have a look at the different ingredients used

Watch the demonstration

Answer the questions


 

Have a look at the different ingredients used:


Watch the demonstration:


Answer the questions:


Using the Stefan case study you have been working on for the past few weeks answer the following questions.


1. Explain if this dish suitable for Stefan to have as a main meal? (8)

2. How could you alter the recipe to make it more suitable? (6)

Bonus points if you make it and send me a picture (it shouldn't take you 4mins as you need to actually let stuff reduce)


Please email me your answers by the end of Tuesday 21st April - this can be a word document, you can write it out and send me a picture or write it straight into the email.


Feedback:


FAQs:

1. When is this work due in?

This work is in for Tuesday the 21st April

2. What about the other work we have done about Stefan?

We are going to revisit the other Stefan work (the work you were set when you left), so I do not need you to send me any of that work yet please.

3. Please can I have my mock grade?

Your mock grade was the grade I put on your tracking for assessment grade. I don't currently have my mark book at home so I cannot give out those grades yet.

4. What do I need to include in my answer for question 1?

So you need to have a look at your ‘reading time’ sheet that you completed for Stefan a couple of weeks ago, then make the assessment if this dish is suitable for him – consider the nutrition of the dish and Stefan’s profile and issues. The question is out of 8 so I’m looking for 4 well explained points.

5. So I need to write about his BMI and PAL, common dietary diseases for his age group and then excesses/deficiencies of the 3 macro-nutrients?

Yes but in the context of the pasta dish as the question is - Is this dish suitable for Stefan?

Also add any micronutrients if you feel they are appropriate.

6. Can I talk about the fibre in pasta and olives, it can link with bowel movements and constipation?

Yes please

124 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Y12: Teams for LIVE lessons

Tasks: Download the Teams app on you phone or laptop Send me a chat message via Teams (kconnett@taptonschool.co.uk) From the 1st June we will move to live lessons, please see email for more detail and

Y12 Lesson 6: Revision

Tasks: REVISE! You will sit a full, timed (including 15mins reading time), paper during your exam week. I have put all of this years PowerPoints onto the learning platform (if you look at the notes th

bottom of page